Stereotyping

by Anonymous

Stereotyping affects many people in different ways. Being a victim of stereotyping, I was tormented in high school. Every day I was called a midget by my so called friends. From that experience to this day, I feel a sense of emptiness about myself because people only look at the outer me: how tall I am, the clothes I wear, and even how I choose to live my life.

In my opinion this world is scared of change. It’s the year 2009. People should be able to wear the clothes they want to wear; people should do the things that make them happy, and not have people telling them it’s wrong. Why is it that when a woman puts on a man’s shirt, or puts on a pair of baggy jeans it’s acceptable, but when a man puts on a tight shirt or a pair of snug jeans he is automatically considered gay? Why is this? Is it not acceptable for a man to feel good about himself and the way he looks?

One thing that I refuse to do is go out on the weekends and party or drink; I would rather go to the movies or stay home and put in a good movie. So all of my friends make jokes all the time because I choose not to drink. I am made fun on a regular basis because I have never had sex or been with a partner. I choose to wait for marriage, is that so wrong? My friends think so.

I often feel sad, depressed, and lonely for this reason, but having a supportive family and God on my side keeps me going everyday. At what point does the teasing and jokes become too much to handle? Think before you act and speak; nobody is perfect.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Stereotyping”

  1. ethnicapparel Says:

    In Hawaii, men and women dress in colorful apparel, not to stand out, but to be beautiful. It is a good concept.

    This is not a subset, it includes the manly men. Insert piratical “Arrr” here. People do need to lighten up. With enough exposure, hopefully we mainlanders can take a lesson.

    There is nothing wrong with being short, skinny, dark, light, or whatever you may be blessed to be. Keeping yourself sacred only seems like an expression of healthy self esteem.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

