Body Art: A Cultural Trend

by “Unique Individual”

Body art has become so popular in the past few years that it’s hard to walk down the street, go to the mall, or watch TV without seeing someone with a piercing or a tattoo. Perhaps you think body piercings are presentable and you’ve thought about getting one. But are they safe? Are they a good idea? What should you be aware of if you do decide to get one? Not all piercings heal properly because they are not meant to be in certain places. Several things could go wrong such as chronic infection, scarring, hepatitis B and C, skin allergies from the jewelry that’s used, boils, inflammation or even nerve damage. Some types of piercings people choose to get are the ears, oral, genital, surface, nostril, (nipples), lip, navel and tongues. The most popular pierced body parts seem to be the ears, the nostrils and the belly button. What many people don’t realize when they get a body piercing is that along with the hole in their body comes medical complications.

A body piercing is exactly that- it’s a piercing or puncture made in your body by a needle. After that a piece of jewelry is inserted into the puncture. A question often asked is why do people get piercings? It depends on the person. It may be for show, but for some it’s more meaningful. Body piercings are their marks of individuality and control. It’s about starting something new and taking care of it, proving responsibility and watching it become more useful. From glamour to Goth, piercings can enhance the best features in anyone. Those with large noses get nostril piercings. They tend to dress it up and can even make it looks more attractive. That’s a part of presenting it.

“Genital piercings are on the rise in women looking to stimulate the clitoris during sex,” reports Sarah Wagner, MD, instructor, obstetrics and gynecology, Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine and obstetrician and gynecologist, Loyola University Health System (LUHS). “While this phenomenon may be growing, genital piercings can cause serious health complications and women should be aware of the risks.” Even though people see ads like this in an article they still choose to participate in getting a body piercing. The woman’s genital piercing is at high risk of getting an infection then any other body part. Complications include bleeding, redness, swelling, pain, scarring, disfigurement and tissue trauma. This type of piercing also can pose a problem during childbirth due to its proximity to the birth canal. Also, tongue rings that are improperly placed have been known to cause a rare nerve disorder that causes unbearable pain for a person. That means shooting pains are sent through the person’s body up to 30-40 times a day. The only thing that helps this nerve disorder is to remove the tongue ring and allow the body piercing to close up.

My reasoning for getting my body pierced is very meaningful. I have ten piercings. Four on my ears, my tongue, my navel, under my tongue, both my nipples and a nape piercing, which is located on the back of my neck. I can say that I love getting pierced. I enjoy the excitement while getting them. Soon I will be getting the dermal anchor piercings. You can get it anywhere on your body and I chose my wrist. I’m more into the fun and unique piercings, which not normally a person would get.

Even though I’ve read and even seen the harm piercings can do to a person’s body, I’ve chosen to get more. As we all know, body piercing is a serious decision. But everyone has their own attitude towards piercings once they see the harm, if any. The worst that could happen is the wrong kind of jewelry for the area pierced. If the jewelry is too small, it can actually cut off the blood supply to the tissue, causing swelling and pain. If the jewelry is either too thin or heavy and if you are allergic to the metal, your body can sometimes reject the jewelry. Luckily my body reacted in a way that showed no harm and people will continue to get them just like me. By walking down the street, going to the mall, or even watching television I will still see people with a piercings somewhere on their body. Anybody who is considering getting any type of body piercing should learn about all the dangers that come with them or it will leave a permanent scar.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Body Art: A Cultural Trend”

  1. Donna Smith Says:

    Thanks for sharing this amazing post. Echoes my thoughts exactly! I have 14 piercings, some of them very uncommon, and my reason for getting them is simple as well – I love piercings. Will be getting a corset real soon. I have been warned time and again about the dangers of multiple piercings but that doesn’t stop me, never will! I love my body piercings!!

    Donna

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

